A. Ramon Rivera Piano Competition

2020 A. Ramon Rivera Competition Cancelled
Due to the continuing health crisis, the Rivers School Conservatory regrettably announces the cancellation of the 2020 A. Ramon Rivera Piano Competition.  Please join us in 2021 for an outstanding and inspiring competition.  Visit this website in the fall for updates and exciting announcements.

A. Ramon Rivera Piano Competition

2021 Competition Dates: TBD

The A. Ramon Rivera Piano Competition was founded in 1990 to honor Mr. Rivera as an extraordinary and inspirational teacher. The competition reflects his uncompromisingly high standards for artistry in music and beauty of sound and is intended to encourage young pianists to continue their search for excellence.

Congratulations to the 2019 Winners:
Kyle Chen, 1st Prize, Open Division (student of Niva Fried)
Jane Hwang, 2nd Prize, Open Division (student of Pavel Nersessian)
Julius Arolovitch, co-winner, 1st Prize, Rivers Division (student of Ian Lindsey)
Theodore Teng, co-winner, 1st Prize, Rivers Division (student of A. Ramon Rivera)
Nathan Emans, Bach Prize (student of Sergey Schepkin)

The competition is open to pianists in grades 9 through 12.

The Rivers Division is open only to pianists studying piano at The Rivers School Conservatory; these students compete for scholarship prizes.
First place: $500
Second place: $250
All other finalists: $100

The Open Division is open to any pianist in grade 9 through 12; these students compete for cash prizes.
First place: $500
Second place: $250
All other finalists: $100

Competitors are only eligible to compete on one division and first prize winners are not eligible to compete in the same division for two consecutive years.

All finalists are eligible for the Bach Prize: $500

Applicants are required to play two pieces from memory (no concertos):

  • A Prelude and Fugue by J.S. Bach from WTC Book I or II
  • A contrasting piece from a different period


  • Total length must not exceed 15 minutes
  • Playing time in the preliminary audition will be limited to 10 minutes
  • Applicants must bring clean scores for the judges (no photocopies) to both rounds of the competition

Previous First Prize Winners

Kyle Chen, Julius Arolovitch & Theodore Teng (2019)
Khoi Le (2018)
Ahana Mukhopadhyay (2017)
Evren Ozel (2016)
Niklas Kniesche (2015)
Victor Li & Alicia Juan (2014)
Christopher Staknys & Eric Lu (2013)
Nicholas Griffiths (2012)
Aaron Behr & Matthew Wu (2011)
Harry Li & Mackenzie Melemed (2010)
Evan Rees & Chi Wei Lo (2009)
Martin Falk & Ariel Borensztein (2008)
Roger Creel (2007)
Roger Creel & Katherine Peterson (2006)
Erli Veizaj & Yundu Wang (2005)
Sean Martinez, Luis F. Ortiz & Jessica Yam (2004)
Larry Weng & Yang Yang (2003)
Sang-Eun Hwang, Aaron Marcus &
Emi Okumura (2002)
Alexander Kossey (2001)
Eben Lichtman & Olga Parsegova (2000)
Ingrid Phoebe Keller & Alexander Kossey (1999)
Jessica Tai (1998)
Katherine Fisher (1996)
David Greco (1995)
Jocelyn Chapman (1994)
Drew Baker (1993)
Jonathan Jao (1992)
Kimberly Hamill (1991)